New release: ‘The Dream: Monash Sessions’

Today we’ve got a brand new release, a brand new album from Dave Douglas!

The Dream: Monash Sessions is a collaboration with musicians from the Sir Zelman Cowen School of Music and Performance at Monash University in Melbourne, Australia. Working with the emerging artists on new music, Dave sought inspiration for the project:

“In looking for an Australian connection to inspire the work, I stumbled on the prose and poetry of Kevin Gilbert. His connection to land, to people, ancestors, and to love, moved me deeply. The imagery in his work, and as I later found out, his graphic artwork, felt keenly attuned to sound and musical expression. Each piece was inspired by one of his works and, with deep respect and feeling, we crafted a lyric and an improvisational content in collaboration. All the players here are excellent, and in each round of recording and production, these pieces became finely honed and sharp edged gems”

The music was recorded at a distance, with audio files being shared online:

“The process of recording varied greatly: some pieces used pre-produced audio guides, others had more open ended and free-form frameworks. Each musician recorded their part in their home studio on their own schedule, reacting and adapting to recordings made by other ensemble members.”

The resulting five track album features a wide range of moods and expression and it is available in digital format on Bandcamp here. Subscribers can listen to the full album in their feed now. Join us to become a subscriber to get this music and much more.

Album Details:

Track Listing:
1. The Dream
2. Noble Truths
3. Convenings
4. Tree
5. The Pen

The Monash SZCSoM musicians:
Voice: Olivia Chamoun
Voice: Natasha Weatherill
Drum Kit: Marissa Di Marzio
Drum Kit: Sam Hunt
Vibraphone & Rhodes: Miro Lauritz
Guitar: Eugene Stone-Marques
Bass: Vasilios Drakopoulos
Bass: Tim Hannan
Trumpet: Ashley Ballat
Trombone: Callum Mintzis
Trombone: Oskar Moore
Alto Saxophone & Flute: Mia Barham
Tenor Saxophone: Mitchell Hand

Production Credits:
Recorded, Mixed and Mastered in August & September 2020
Composed and arranged by Dave Douglas (Dave Douglas Music / BMI)
Lyrics by Natasha Weatherill and Olivia Chamoun
Produced by Dave Douglas
Co-produced by the SZCSoM Jazz Team: Paul Williamson, Robert Burke, Jordan Murray and Johannes Luebbers
Coordinator for Dave Douglas: Mark Micklethwaite at Greenleaf Music
Tracking and mastering: Daniel Tan
Mixing: Hadyn Buxton
Monash University technical assistance by Karl Willebrant and Chris Cody
Photography by Austin Nelson
Design by Robyn Ardagh