OUT NOW: Songs of Ascent – Dave Douglas Quintet

Big release day! Out now by the Dave Douglas Quintet: Songs of Ascent: Book 1 – Degrees (available on all platforms) and Book 2 – Steps (exclusively for Greenleaf subscribers on Bandcamp).

The Dave Douglas Quintet features saxophonist Jon Irabagon, pianist Matt Mitchell, bassist Linda May Han Oh, and drummer Rudy Royston. Dave’s all-new compositions draw inspiration from the group of psalms called the Songs of Ascent, plus the first track on Book 1 – Degrees, which Dave wrote on the day he decided to take this on. The album is high-energy and introspective at the same time.

Buy and stream Book 1 – Degrees here or check it out through Bandcamp below..


Book 2 – Steps features eight further reflections on Songs of Ascent. This album is available now, exclusively for Greenleaf Music subscribers.