Mareike Wiening nominated for German Jazz Award

Mareike Wiening has been nominated for this year’s DEUTSCHE JAZZPREIS, the German Jazz Award!

Her band featuring Rich Perry, Alex Goodman, Glenn Zaleski, and Johannes Felscher have been nominated for “Band of the Year” for their exceptional artistic and innovative achievements in a national and international context.

The awards will be announced in Bremen, Germany on April 27th at this year’s Jazzhead Conference.

Realized by the Initiative Musik with project funds from the Federal Government Commissioner for Culture and the Media, these are the largest awards for the national and international jazz scene in Germany. This year they received more than 1,000 submissions, including from artists, labels and publishers. These were evaluated and discussed by the five appointed expert juries in sessions lasting several days.

Full details are available here. Mareike’s latest album Future Memories, is available now!

Good luck Mareike!