Dave Douglas premieres Dizzy Atmosphere at Jazz at Lincoln Center

Dave Douglas is premiering a new project dedicated to the great Dizzy Gillespie at Jazz at Lincoln Center on February 23 and 24.

Joining Dave for this engagement is an ensemble of outstanding artists: trumpeter Ambrose Akinmusire, guitarist Bill Frisell, pianist Gerald Clayton, bassist Linda May Han Oh and drummer (and Gillespie alum) Joey Baron.

As Dave says,  “I can’t say enough how happy I am to have been able to create this band. I think they are uniquely suited to taking the traditional elements and setting out on a new musical journey with them,” Douglas said of the musicians he assembled for this program. “I called Ambrose Akinmusire first because, in addition to loving his work and playing, I knew we would see eye to eye about the challenges of taking up Dizzy.  Bill Frisell, Gerald Clayton, Linda May Han Oh, Joey Baron — this is a dream rhythm section, and especially as we take more traditional repertoire into new territory, each one of them has unique experiences that make this possible. I am thrilled to take a walk in zero gravity with all of these champions.”

The group will play two shows nightly using Gillespie repertoire as a starting point for improvisation and exploration.

Regarding Gillespie, Dave notes: “Dizzy Gillespie was always a peace maker, always the one advancing the music in profound new ways, through understanding and curiosity. In so many different areas, Dizzy was there first it seems – bebop, Afro-Cuban Jazz, hiring young John Coltrane, and global ambassadorship in many guises. And he ran for president in 1964. This is my first tribute to a United States presidential candidate.

Don’t miss the world premiere of this new project. See you there!


Friday, February 23, 7:00pm and 9:30pm
Saturday, February 24, 7:00pm and 9:30pm

Jazz At Lincoln Center – Appel Room
10 Columbus Cir, New York, NY 10023, USA

Dave Douglas, trumpet
Ambrose Akinmusire, trumpet
Bill Frisell, guitar
Gerald Clayton, piano
Linda May Han Oh, bass
Joey Baron, drums

Press release available here.