ANFTD #51: Marcus Strickland

Dave talks to multi-reed player, composer, Blue Note recording artist Marcus Strickland. Aside from leading his own bands, Marcus has had long stints with both Roy Haynes and Jeff ’Tain’ Watts. Marcus was also a key member of Dave’s Keystone electric sextet and appears on the Greenleaf Music albums Keystone, Moonshine, and Spark Of Being (Marcus plays soprano sax on the original “A Noise From The Deep”). They talk about recording and production, multi-reeds and composition, creation and application of sampled beats, Black Lives Matter, social change, and the Blue Note All-Stars.

Marcus Strickland
Interview conducted April 17, 2018

Tracks played:
Sissoko’s Voyage
Tic Toc

All tracks from Nihil Novi (Blue Note)

Charles Haynes – Drums
Kyle Miles – Electric Bass
Mitch Henry – Keyboards, Organ, Organ [B-3], Clavinet, Organ [Wurlitzer], Electric Piano [Rhodes]
Masayuki Hirano – Keyboards
Marcus Strickland – Soprano Saxophone, Alto Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone, Bass Clarinet
Keyon Harold – Trumpet, Flugelhorn
Meshell Ndegeocello – Producer

Nihil Novi also includes appearances from singer Jean Baylor, bassists Pino Palladino and Ndegeocello, keyboardist James Francies, drummer Chris Dave, guitarist Chris Bruce, and pianist Robert Glasper.

[powerpress url=”″]