COMING SOON: Overcome by Dave Douglas

We’ve got a surprise new release coming from Dave Douglas!

The album is entitled Overcome, and it will be released on Friday, December 4th on Bandcamp.

Originating in discussions with trombonist Ryan Keberle, the project was to focus on civic engagement and speaking about toward justice in the context of the US election. While touring was being planned in swing states leading up to the election, the pandemic changed everything. The music was written in earnest and then recorded virtually with Douglas, Keberle, vocalists Fay Victor, vocalist & guitarist Camila Meza, bassist Jorge Roeder, and drummer Rudy Royston. Touring switched to virtual presentations at colleges throughout the US.

And now, we’ll be releasing the entire album next Friday!

With compositional input from the entire group (music and lyrics), the six song album original pieces, as well as an interpretation of “We Shall Overcome,” featuring vocals from both Fay Victor and Camila Meza.

Check out the details below and watch this space for the full release next week.

Album Details:

Peace (Douglas, words by Langston Hughes)
Perspective (Royston)
Overcome (Douglas, words by Camila Meza)
Good Trouble, for John Lewis (Douglas, words and music)
We Shall Overcome (traditional)
When We Are Together Again (Douglas, words by Camila Meza and Fay Victor)

Dave Douglas, trumpet
Ryan Keberle, trombone
Fay Victor, voice
Camila Meza, voice and guitar
Jorge Roeder, bass
Rudy Royston, drums

Production Credits:
Recorded by each musician, in NY, remotely, between July and September, 2020.
Mixed and mastered by Tyler McDiarmid
Engineering assistant to Mr. Roeder, Mark Goodell
Photo by Dave Douglas
Design by Lukas Frei