Pre-order the new David Sanford Big Band album ‘A Prayer For Lester Bowie’

We’ve launched the pre-order for A Prayer For Lester Bowie, the new album from the David Sanford Big Band.

Award-winning composer, David Sanford started his 20-piece big band in 2003, presenting original works inspired by classical idioms, popular music, and jazz standards.

Featuring throughout the album is Hugh Ragin, who is plays both trumpet and as composes and conducts the album’s centerpiece and title work, “A Prayer For Lester Bowie,” which is an homage to the late, great trumpeter and co-founder of the Art Ensemble of Chicago. The rest of the album comprises six kaleidoscopic Sanford compositions – inspired by everything from rollercoasters to film noir – plus his modern arrangement of Dizzy Gillespie “Dizzy Atmosphere.” This is vibrant, exciting large ensemble music that sees no limits.

The album will be released on September 24th and you can pre-order the album now on Bandcamp, iTunes, and Amazon. You can also stream the album’s first single, “Subtraf,” here.

Check out the album trailer video below with a few excerpts from the record, as well as album details below.


Ted Levine and Kelley Hart-Jenkins – alto saxophones
Anna Webber (tracks 1, 2, 7, 8), Marc Phaneuf (tracks 3-6) and Geoff Vidal – tenor saxophones
Brad Hubbard – baritone saxophone

Brad Goode (tracks 1-7), Tony Kadleck (track 8), Tim Leopold, Wayne J. du Maine, Thomas Bergeron and Hugh Ragin – trumpets
Mike Christianson, Jim Messbauer,
Ben Herrington (tracks 1, 2, 4, 6-8) and Mike Seltzer (tracks 3, 5) – tenor trombones
Steven Gehring – bass trombone
Raymond Stewart – tuba

Dave Fabris – electric guitar
Geoff Burleson – piano
Dave Phillips – electric and acoustic bass
Mark Raynes – drums
Theo Moore – percussion

David Sanford (tracks 1-4 and 6-8)
Hugh Ragin (track 5)

Production Credits:
Executive Producer: Dave Douglas
Produced by Tom Lazarus and David Sanford
Recorded June 6-7, 2016 at Sear Sound, New York, NY
Recorded and mixed by Tom Lazarus
Assisted by Owen Mulholland and Jeff Citron
Mastered by Joe Lambert at Joe Lambert Mastering
Cover painting by Chris Pouler
Graphic design by Lukas Frei

All music composed and arranged by David Sanford (David Sanford Music / BMI)
“A Prayer For Lester Bowie” composed and arranged by Hugh Ragin (HURA Music / ASCAP)
“Dizzy Atmosphere” composed by John “Dizzy” Gillespie (Universal Music Corp. / ASCAP)