Pre-order Mareike Wiening’s ‘Future Memories’ now

We’re launching the pre-order for Future Memories, the new album from drummer Mareike Wiening!

The record features eight of Mareike’s original compositions recorded by her longstanding band that includes saxophonist Rich Perry, pianist Glenn Zaleski, guitarist Alex Goodman, and bassist Johannes Felscher. Recorded in one day in the midst of an extensive tour, the album captures the live group energy and cohesion that only comes from playing together regularly. The music was captured in January 2020, just before the first pandemic lockdown, and the album’s title encapsulates Mareike’s feelings: the unexpected value of our future interweaves with various levels of past experiences, memories and the unknown. Balancing great compositions with soaring solo explorations, this is exciting, thoughtful, and engaging creative jazz.

See full album details below. The first single, out today, is entitled Northern Sail, and is inspired by summer sailing.

You can pre-order the album and stream the first single here.

Check out the studio video below and watch for more music coming soon!

Album Details:

Track Details:

1. Northern Sail
2. El Escorial
3. An Idea is Unpredictable
4. RiChanges
5. Future Memories
6. The Other Soul
7. Seesaw March
8. Dance Into July


Mareike Wiening | Drums
Rich Perry | Tenor Saxophone
Glenn Zaleski | Piano
Alex Goodman | Guitar
Johannes Felscher | Double Bass

Production Credits:

Produced by Mareike Wiening
Executive Producer: Dave Douglas
Recorded at Riverside Studios Cologne, Germany on January 17th, 2020
Recorded by David Brucklacher
Mixed and mastered by Johannes Felscher
Graphic Design by Frank Hoeger
Photography by Lukas Diller

All compositions and arrangements by Mareike Wiening (GEMA)

Mareike Wiening plays Meinl Cymbals and Meinl Stick & Brush
Rich Perry plays D’Addario reeds
Alex Goodman plays Collings Guitars